Babywearing-4 months in 

Throughout my pregnancy I knew I wanted to babywear, although I didn’t know people called it that! The thought of having my baby close to me, hands free, cuddled all day really appealed to me. The more I looked into it the more I discovered all the other benefits such as helping with digestion, preventing a flat head and your baby feeling secure. I wasn’t remotely interested in a pushchair.

Babywearing has been my favourite thing to do as a parent. My baby loves being carried, he’s so relaxed and 99% of the time he falls fast asleep! He loves being able to look around, and I find I talk to him more and tell him what’s around us than I would if he was in a pushchair. It’s also great for his hip development. 

It’s so convenient  when I’m doing the housework or when I’m out shopping. I can carry bags, push the trolley etc no problem! Also, no fiddling around with unfolding and folding a pushchair. I can actually get things done thank goodness!

Babywearing has saved me many a time when my baby has been inconsolable. It never fails to settle him whether he’s just overtired, or feeling sad after his jabs. 

I am certainly not against pushchairs at all, I often use a pushchair as well, but personally I have found babywearing a completely lifesaver. If anyone is thinking about it, I 100% recommend it.

The first sling I purchased was the Close Caboo+organic in “Driftwood Marl” (£64.99) I loved the ease of putting this on and getting my baby in securely. I used this from day one, it was perfect for my newborn. One week after giving birth I used this sling whilst meeting family for a meal and he slept the entire time! This sling is so convenient. Personally I’ve only used it as a front carrier so far but I love how now my baby is bigger and can support his head very well, the Caboo can easily be lowered slightly and i can breastfeed easily. I’ve even done this whilst walking around the shops, and no one has ever noticed. (I’m not sure if Close Parent recommend this position for breastfeeding but it’s definitely saved me a baby hunger meltdown a few times when out and about) 

The second sling I purchased was a Sa-Be wrap (£32.95 for a double sided one I had, but cheaper for the one colour) this is a stretchy wrap and this feels fantastic. I’ve never had any slight back pain whilst using this and my baby feels pretty weightless and extremely comfortable. This is my favourite sling to wear and my baby feels so supportive. I also just love the feeling of creating a hold for my baby from a giant piece of material! Again, I’ve only tried the front carry with this but it never fails. I always use this if I’m out shopping or know I will be carrying for a few hours, as I know I will have zero back problems.

My third carrier is the Boba 4G in “Dusk” (approximately £94.50) This is a buckle carrier which I like using when I quickly need to put my baby into a sling. I use it very often around the home when my baby is fussing and needs a good nap. My husband has also used this (slightly more manly than a wrap I assume?!) and he liked the feeling of having our baby so close. I absolutely love the grey colour of this carrier, and it’s very comfortable around the waist and shoulders as it is really padded. I can’t wait to use this as a back carrier, I tried it once but my boy is still a bit too little unfortunately. 

Next on my list is a woven wrap! 

I know some people seem to think as babywearing as a bit of a “hippy mom” kind of thing but it’s so natural. Isn’t it better to be holding your baby, showing them the world, than having them just lying there flat on their back in the pushchair all the time? 

A woman once said to me “he’ll want to be carried all the time now!” Like I’m sure babies who are in pushchairs will want to pushed around for the rest of their lives…

Leave a comment